Let It Go

Yes, I likely just got that song stuck in your head. You’re welcome.

Joking aside, I met with a fantastic critique group last night. Things may get a bit heated, maybe get stuck on something, but the important part to me was that there was no malice behind it. Something another group I’ve been dragging myself to enjoys doing far too much. It’s hard to sit there when people are tearing you or even someone else apart and being degrading in the process.

I usually keep my mouth shut because while I have my opinions, I don’t figure myself a qualified to voice against those who have spent far more time learning the craft of writing. I kind of just get this idea and go. I’ll iron out story structure and whatnot later.

Now though, that means there will be a lot more people wanting to eventually put eyes on my work and I’m scared to let it go. Especially the mess that book 2 is currently sitting in. Will I get book 1 done in time before people want to read? Will they read it?

I’ve still got to read 2 prior books for someone in my little group (normal group is now little group because I feel like making things sound cute). Eventually I keep saying, but critiquing his book 3 is getting somewhat problematic. I just don’t think I have the time to spare right now.

Not with book 1 needing to be wrapped up by the end of the month. I’m hoping to find the time to get all the extra stuff (back blurb, other book matter, etc.) done early so that I can roll into April with just waiting my turn with my cover designer. And Camp NaNoWriMo because I wasn’t insane enough before.

I’m going to use Camp NaNo to try and launch myself on the rewrite for book 2. Still a filler title right now, but it’s sticking better than the old one.

In any case, I’m sure I’m being silly about not wanting to let go.

2 responses to “Let It Go

  1. I hope you enjoyed your time at the group. 🙂 We can get a little silly and distracted, but I try my best to Mom them back into focus.

    Sounds to me like you’ve got a lot on your plate, but if you schedule well, you can probably get it all done. I’ve decided not to take on another beta-reading/critiquing project until I finish reading Dani’s book and get a review posted. Oi!

    Now, I’m going to go sing a Disney song…

    • I did! It was fun and I’m so not used to anyone paying me any attention in a larger group.

      I still have reviews to do, but I don’t want to do them while in editing mode – just not fair to the people I’m reviewing. Dani’s book was a pretty quick read even though I would get stopped every so often on something that I wanted to edit (bad me). I’m also awful at writing reviews so I try to sneak by sometimes with just rating it until I can come back.

      The particular mindset I have for getting things done probably isn’t the best. The sooner I get it done, the sooner I can work on something else and knock that out. I can rest when it’s done.

      Kinda burnt out at the beginning of the month with that and am playing catch up again.

      And on a side note, I’ve got the incantations for the Dragon Slave and Giga Slave stuck in my head now.

Leave a Reply

